zum Inhalt springen

Exhibitions


Polly Apfelbaum

Happiness Runs

07 September 2018 to 13 January 2019
Belvedere 21Belvedere

At the Belvedere 21, the American artist Polly Apfelbaum reveals the relationship between six of her latest space-consuming installations for the first time. Her holistic composition comprising carpets handwoven in Mexico enters into a dialogue with the open, sunlit architecture of the building.

Polly Apfelbaum’s multifaceted oeuvre is characterised by the search for new artistic means of expression and the breaking down of barriers between sculpture, painting and installation. The artist combines techniques and materials from both fine art and arts and crafts. She experiments with ceramic, textiles, paper and handwoven carpets. Stylistically, she is influenced by Bauhaus Modernism, Minimal Art, Abstract Expressionism and Pop Art. Since the 1990s, Apfelbaum has used the floor as a surface on which to present her ‘Fallen Paintings ’. Her intent exploration of space, colour, form and materiality finds its logical progression in this show on the upper floor of the Belvedere 21. Themes such as feminism and spirituality, quotations from the history of art as well as references to popular prints and comics are intrinsic to Apfelbaum’s art. In the spirit of an open space for contemplation, the exhibition invites its visitors to participate.

Polly Apfelbaum was born in Abington, Pennsylvania (USA), in 1955. She studied painting at the Tyler School of Art, Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, and at Purchase College, State University of New York. International exhibitions since the 1980s; works in the collections of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, Whitney Museum, New York, Brooklyn Museum, New York, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and many more. The artist lives and works in New York.

Curated by Stella Rollig.

Make sure to wear nice socks: we kindly advise that the exhibition can be viewed only with socks.

#HappinessRuns21

zum Inhalt springen

Ausstellungen


Polly Apfelbaum

Happiness Runs

07. September 2018 bis 13. Januar 2019
Belvedere 21Belvedere

Die US-amerikanische Künstlerin Polly Apfelbaum setzt im Belvedere 21 erstmals sechs ihrer aktuellen raumgreifenden Installationen zueinander in Beziehung. Die Gesamtkomposition, bestehend aus in Mexiko handgewebten Teppichen, tritt in einen Dialog mit der offenen, lichtdurchfluteten Architektur des Hauses.

Das vielschichtige Œuvre von Polly Apfelbaum ist charakterisiert durch die Suche nach neuen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen und das Aufheben der Grenzen zwischen Skulptur, Malerei und Installation. Die Künstlerin vermischt Techniken und Materialien aus bildender Kunst und Kunsthandwerk. Sie experimentiert mit Keramik, Textil, Papier und handgewebten Teppichen. Stilistisch ist sie von Bauhaus-Moderne, Minimal Art, Abstraktem Expressionismus und Pop Art beeinflusst. Seit den 1990er-Jahren nutzt Apfelbaum den Boden als Präsentationsfläche für ihre „Fallen Paintings“. Ihre konzentrierte Auseinandersetzung mit Raum, Farbe, Form und Materialität findet in der Schau im Obergeschoss des Belvedere 21 eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung. Themen wie Feminismus und Spiritualität, kunsthistorische Zitate sowie Bezüge zu populärer Druckgrafik und Comics sind Apfelbaums Kunst immanent. Im Sinne eines offenen Kontemplationsraums lädt die Ausstellung zur Teilhabe ein.

Polly Apfelbaum wurde 1955 in Abington, Pennsylvania (USA), geboren. Sie studierte Malerei an der Tyler School of Art, Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, und am Purchase College der State University of New York. Internationale Ausstellungen seit den 1980er-Jahren; Werke in den Sammlungen des Museum of Modern Art, New York, des Whitney Museum, New York, des Brooklyn Museum, New York, des Los Angeles County Museum of Art u. v. a.  Die Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in New York.


Kuratiert von Stella Rollig.

#HappinessRuns21